AESOP ROCK / FLOAT (Custom Green Vinyl)


Only 1 left in stock

SKU: 0826257032423 Category:


In 2000, Aesop Rock released his first official album, Float, following his steady ascent in the underground from two previous releases, the collection of works CD of lore, Music For Earthworms (1997), and the Appleseed EP (1999). And, while every album Aesop has done since then has captured his continual evolution as both a producer and a writer, Float was undeniably exceptional in it’s own right. For one, there was something impacting about a full-length album, 20 tracks deep, that never had any singles. Every track only existed as part of the album experience. That in mind, the album’s production is split nearly in half between Aesop Rock and longtime collaborator and good friend, Blockhead, as well as one offering from Omega One, the Reggae-vibed “Skip Town”. The album’s production largely seems to have one collective goal, to immediately capture the intended mood, luring the listener in and leaving them attentive and prepared for the carefully crafted accompanying lyricism. Lyrics in mind, Aesop Rock is clearly the star of the record, but the few guest appearances, strategically spread throughout the album, are either the result of great foresight or unavoidable synergy-perhaps both-as Slug (of Atmosphere), Vast Aire (of Cannibal Ox), and Dose One were all right in the midst, or directly on the verge, of breakthrough career moments of their own around the same time they were featured on Float. As for Aesop, the album finds him diving deep into his intricate, visually descriptive and emotionally riveting writing style, which has only gotten more vigorous and diverse over time. His delivery feels settled into the hints of urgency, as if he is well aware that the journey and challenges, as well as triumphs, that he shall face are arduous and plentiful. Twenty years after it’s debut, Float is a time capsule of an artist on the brink of fully tapping into creative freedom, while the industry was simultaneously in the middle of a notable shift, which still remains a powerful statement on it’s own, decades later. To celebrate, Rhymesayers is re-releasing Float on 2xLP vinyl, available in three different, limited edition colorways!

1 Float
2 Commencement at the Obedience Academy
3 Big Bang
4 Garbage
5 I’ll Be Ok Feat. Slug
6 Breakfast with Blockhead
7 Basic Cable
8 Fascination
9 Oxygen
10 Skip Town
11 6B Panorama
12 Lunch with Blockhead
13 Spare a Match
14 Attention Span Feat. Vast Aire
15 How to Be a Carpenter
16 Prosperity
17 No Splash
18 Drawbridge Feat. Doseone
19 Dinner with Blockhead
20 The Mayor and the Crook

Additional information

Weight 23 oz
Dimensions 12 × .5 × 12 in


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “AESOP ROCK / FLOAT (Custom Green Vinyl)”

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *